This is the supreme body of academic and associated governance of the university, to which the remaining internal committees report (either directly or indirectly). Its remit is governed by the provision of the University Charter.  Senate reports direct to the Council.

Terms of reference are as follows:

  • to consider the quality of learning and teaching programmes and outcomes, and to approve related strategies for quality enhancement;
  • to consider the profile of research in the University and to approve related strategies for its further development;
  • to consider the quality of the learning and general campus environment and to encourage improvements where appropriate;
  • to contribute to the development and continuous monitoring of the university’s Strategic Plan;
  • to consider annual Vice-Chancellor’s reports, annual income and expenditure
  • estimates, and to comment and approve as appropriate;
  • to monitor procedures for recruitment to academic posts and performance appraisal of academic staff;
  • to award the titles of professor and lecturers as well as designated honorary titles in a manner prescribed by the recognised authority;
  • to approve rules and internal procedures regulating the administration of academic affairs;
  • where appropriate, to authorise the organisation of meetings of the wider academic community to discuss important issues;
  • to elect or nominate representatives to the University Council; elect and discontinue the appointment of the Vice-Chancellor and the Registrar according to the provisions of the University Charter; and, on the advice of the Vice-Chancellor, approve the deans of faculties and other officers of the university provided for in the Charter; and
  • to exercise such other functions provided for by the Charter.

Senate Members

Governing Body








Vice-Chancellor of UniSey

Ms. Joëlle Perreau








Dr. Indra Persaud




Mrs. Vicky Rachel

Other Members




Ms Diana Benoit

Mrs Marie-France Loze

Mrs Penda Choppy

Mrs Christine Pejakovic

Mr. Bijay Georges

Mr. Yaw Adu-Ampomah

Ms Annie Laurette

Ms Dolivette Chang-Ko

Ms Pricillina Durbarry

Mr. Shamad Japha