About Us > Council

The Council is responsible, on behalf of all stakeholders, for the strategic direction and viability (financial and legal) of the University.  Terms of reference are as follows:

  • to approve and monitor the University’s Strategic Plan;
  • to approve an appropriate Business Plan and to ensure the financial viability of the University;
  • to ensure that appropriate risk management policies are in place and to monitor performance;
  • to ensure the proper administration and control of all the University’s property (moveable and immoveable);
  • to approve the staffing structure and general organisation of the University;
  • to determine the wages or salaries of all members of staff (in accordance with scales determined by the Council);
  • to approve and ensure the good working of the committee structure of the university;
  • to ensure that there is a robust and effective quality assurance system in place; and
  • to undertake such other strategic tasks as may be necessary.

Membership is drawn from external and internal constituencies as follows:
A majority of members of the Council should come from outside the university.
Meetings will not be quorate unless this is the case.  Members will be appointed by the Chancellor.

The following constitutes the membership of the Council:

  •  (External) Chair of the Board
  •  (External) Six members from the local community
  • (External) Two international members representing universities or organisations of international repute
  • (Internal) Vice-Chancellor
  • (Internal) Registrar

Members will be appointed for a term of 3 years, renewable (subject to review) for a maximum of a further 3 years.

The Council will normally meet 5 times per year (the international members will attend one meeting a year, to coincide with the graduation ceremony).

Council Members

ChairpersonMrs Margaret Pillay
International MemberProfessor Maria Gravari – Barbas
External Members

Dr Guy Ah-Moye

Mr Antoine Onezime

Mr Sunil Shah

Dr Nirmal Jivan Shah

Mr Rupert Simeon

Dr Mathilda Twomey

Internal Members

Mrs Luciana Lagrenade

Dr Indra Persaud

Ms Joelle Perreau

Ms Natacha Rose

bahsinebetparagizabetnakit bahisprivebet
jasminbettipobetrestbeten iyi casino sitelerigüvenilir casino siteleri