Skip to content

Welcome to the University of Seychelles

Leadership and Strategy


This is the supreme body of academic and associated governance of the university, to which the remaining internal committees report (either directly or indirectly). Its remit is governed by the provision of the University Charter.  Senate reports direct to the Council.

Terms of reference are as follows:

  • to consider the quality of learning and teaching programmes and outcomes, and to approve related strategies for quality enhancement;
  • to consider the profile of research in the University and to approve related strategies for its further development;
  • to consider the quality of the learning and general campus environment and to encourage improvements where appropriate;
  • to contribute to the development and continuous monitoring of the university’s Strategic Plan;
  • to consider annual Vice-Chancellor’s reports, annual income and expenditure
  • estimates, and to comment and approve as appropriate;
  • to monitor procedures for recruitment to academic posts and performance appraisal of academic staff;
  • to award the titles of professor and lecturers as well as designated honorary titles in a manner prescribed by the recognised authority;
  • to approve rules and internal procedures regulating the administration of academic affairs;
  • where appropriate, to authorise the organisation of meetings of the wider academic community to discuss important issues;
  • to elect or nominate representatives to the University Council; elect and discontinue the appointment of the Vice-Chancellor and the Registrar according to the provisions of the University Charter; and, on the advice of the Vice-Chancellor, approve the deans of faculties and other officers of the university provided for in the Charter; and
  • to exercise such other functions provided for by the Charter.

Senate Members

Ms. Joëlle Perreau
Vice -Chancellor
Dr. Indra Persaud
Dr. Justin Zelime
Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Development

Ms. Dolivette Chang-ko

Director of Marketing and Communications

Mr. Bijay George

Director of Information Technology

Mrs. Emmanuella Simeon

Director of Compliance and Legal

Ms. Sylvanna Antat

Director of the James Michel Blue Economy Research Institute

Mrs.Christine Pejakovic

Director of the Education and Socio - Economic Research Institute
Dr. Michael Hall
Dean of the Faculty of Business and Sustainable Development

Mrs. Diana Ithier

Director of Quality Assurance

Ms. Patricia Rosette

Director of Human Resource and Administration

Dr. Penda Choppy

Director of the Creole Language and Culture Research Institute

Ms. Diana Benoit

Director of the James Mancham Peace and Diplomacy Research Institute

Mrs. Prema Servina

Senior Manager of Stakeholders' Engagement

Mrs. Begguita Labrosse

Senior Manager of Assessment Services

Ms. Monica Francoise

Manager of Student Services

Mrs. Marie France Loze

Senior Librarian

Mr. Robin Zarine

Faculty of Arts and Social Development
Staff Representative

Mr. Yaw Adu- Ampomah

Faculty of Business and Sustainable Development Staff Representative
Ms. Natalie Esparon

Mrs. Annie Laurette

Faculty of Arts and Social Development
Management Representative

Dr. Srimal Fernando

Faculty of Business and Sustainable Development Management Representative

Mr. Joey Tirant

Vice-President of Student Council

Apply Now!